The Carnegie Medal

The 1930s

The 1940s

The 1950s

The 1960s

The 1970s

The 1980s

The 1990s

The Carnegie Medal

Medal winners

CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals: 80 Years of the best children's books

My Home Library has been going for over 15 years now, which seems impressive enough. But this year, the Carnegie Medal celebrates a full eighty years a whole lifetime!

Anne Fine thought some of you might like to focus on the winning books over that time: she says "you might spot them in libraries and bookshops, maybe? take a peep? After all, each was considered the very best book of its year. Some seem to have all but vanished. But many are now classics which you'll have read, or seen on bookshelves, or on film.

"So let's take a decade a month. That should give you plenty of time to haunt your charity shops and see if there's anything you fancy adding to your own Home Library.

"The Carnegie Medal honours the Scottish born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie. He's the great man who endowed so many of our public libraries, and rather wonderfully said, "To die rich is to die disgraced." The prize was established in 1935 by the Library Association, and is still considered the most prestigious award an author for children or young adults can win. (I can't describe to you how proud I am to have won it twice.)"

Use the links on the right to explore what Anne has had to say about the winning books so far....

... and don't forget to visit us again next month, to see which books won the Carnegie Medal and the Kate Greenaway in the 2000s.